Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Wear His Name April 22, 2011

Filed under: Christ,Faith,Music — fullofboys @ 6:23 am

My hands they made you
My breath I gave you
My son he saves you
If you want to, you can wear My name
My love unending
My truth unbending
I want you to wear My name

The above are lyrics from a PFR song from the 90’s called ‘Name’. I love this song for so many reasons.

The main reason I love this song is the idea of wearing Christ’s name. A few weeks ago, we had some pretty severe storms that left a lot of trees down. When I say tree, I mean 20 foot tree uprooted and laying on the ground. Some were even taller! I happened on a Monday night. As my schedule is, tuesdays are one of the days when all my children are in school/preschool. I decided I would go volunteer to help with storm clean up.

I need to say that as much as I wanted to go serve, I was dragging my feet a little bit. Why? Because I felt I was not fit for this job. I wear heels and make up. I don’t normally care to be outside all the time. However, I traded in my heels and but on some rain boots and headed out. The feeling of ‘not being enough’ again washed over me once I arrived and I saw how people were already working.

But then I remembered this song. I wanted to wear HIS name…not mine. I wanted to reveal Christ in my actions. At the end of the day, I felt it was more important to serve and show love than feel like I could conquer a project. And guess what? Got blew me away that day. I met some incredible volunteers. Some were from my church.  Some were from other states who were here to help with the damage. Some were people who had been jaded by the church and were blown away that we were there serving. I had the chance to talk to a homeowner and explain that we were serving her not because we had to, but because we wanted to serve.

And I realized anew, wearing His name is something I want to do in my life daily. Yes, there is still lots of sin in my life. Yes, I try to please Him and sometimes fail. But through it all, I want to wear His name so that there is no doubt where I stand in my faith. Some days it is really easy to wear His name (like when you are serving with 30+ people from your church) but other days are tough (talking to parents from your children’s school or when you are in a hurry and you fuss at your kids). Regardless, wearing His name is equally important.

How do you ‘wear His name’?

 

Leave a Reply

