Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Christmas Giving November 19, 2008

Filed under: Works For Me Wednesday — fullofboys @ 7:47 am
Tags: , , ,

A couple weeks ago my sister sent an email to my family. Here is a portion of it

First, I want to encourage all of us to really think about what we give each other this year. Answer some questions before you go buy something for anyone.

  1. Is this something they will really use?
  2. Is it something that will either, a, be consumed, or b, be valuable and last a long time?
  3. Is it something that is needed?
  4. What are the things that the other person would really love to receive?

I think we all get caught up in getting people things that are big and expensive, as a way to try and show our love for each other. Which is kind of funny, because especially over the last few years, I have seen each of our love for each other displayed in amazing ways. Let’s use the gifts this year as a token of that, but not get caught up in the gift itself.

She then suggested that we make a wish list on Amazon. You can find just about anything on there. Sometimes the quantities are large, though. We are just using our lists for ideas. Her ideas are phenomenal. She has things from razor blades and laundry detergent to granola bars and jeans. If they don’t have it on Amazon, you can easily add their Universal Wish List button. It is a button that goes on your toolbar. As you are on other sites you can add that item to your wish list. On the wish list it will just state that you go to another site. You can even add places you might like to have money donated (NURU tops my sister’s list!).

Christmas is being revolutionized in our house this year. Heath and I still plan to buy each of the boy’s a gift but I doubt they will receive more than one or two from us. We are thinking more and more about how to buy what people need rather than what we think they would like. I get excited when I think about this year’s gift giving. It used to stress me out. With the Amazon lists I have several ideas!

How do you decide what to give people?

Works for me! Check out more ideas here!

 

6 Responses to “Christmas Giving”

  1. Great way to communicate the idea to family and friends. I haven’t checked out Amazon’s wish lists yet. I think this is a good idea for birthdays for the kids.

  2. Crys Says:

    That has definitely been my rule when buying gifts. And I think that’s great that there is communication like that going on in your family. We had the boys write up a Christmas list and made certain to say that it should NOT have any video games on it. And they actually made lists without video games. So proud *sniff*

  3. Krista Says:

    It’s funny… before I got married it was kind of a free for all in my family when trying to buy things that people wanted. His family on the other hand emails each other a list of things (complete with links) that they would like.
    On one hand it feels tacky, yet it makes it so easy. However, I am of the opinion that you should know the person… yet that’s not always easy! I see a hundred things to get my mom when I’m out shopping yet I can never come up with any good ideas for my dad or my brother.
    Then again, I almost wish we did the Secret Santa thing and just bought a gift for one person and spent the rest of the time enjoying our families rather than the stuff.
    I may have to write my own post about this… 🙂 Thanks!

  4. I use Wishpot – which basically does the same thing and lets me have multiple lists (one for me, one for hubby & one for Lil Sugar) it’s a great idea! My sisters are all in college so they really appreciate practical gifts and are getting first aid kits this year!

  5. Rhonda Says:

    So, Chad and I think that our families have enough “stuff” so a couple of years ago we started giving donations to Samaritan’s Purse in lieu of presents. My 3 year old niece got to send a family in Honduras a flock of chicks so they can have an income; my brother got a donkey (he’s a democrat) to a family so they could plow their fields and make a living. We love it! It goes to those in the world who really have a need and Christ’s love is spread. Check out the on-line catalog at http://www.samaritanspurse.org
    click on Christmas Catalog!

    • fullofboys Says:

      I love this idea! I saw this catalog recently and told Heath I want the boys to participate in this…more than anything I want them to remember the reason we celebrate isn’t because of toys and gifts but because of God’s everlasting gift to us!


Leave a Reply

