Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

I blame him October 23, 2008

Filed under: Family — fullofboys @ 9:02 pm
Tags:

It is all Alan’s fault (because his wife and little boy are completely innocent in this!). This conversation happened today with Joel on our way home from school.

Joel: Mom, can you take me somewhere
Me: I’m not sure, where do you want to go? (Note to new parents, always keep your skepticism in check when a four year old boy asks for anything!)
Joel: I think it is time we go to the pet store
Me: (trying not to spew the coke I just put in my mouth)
Joel: I would like to go pick out my two new dogs
Me: Really? I don’t think we can do that today
Joel: Ok…maybe next week
End of discussion

Soon after Alan and Carrie welcomed their little guy into the world we drove out to their house to take them a meal. They own two dogs. I must tell you I was quite nervous as they are big dogs. I was not sure how the boys would take to them. I figured they would freak out but instead they entertained themselves with the dogs the entire time! Joel came home and immediately wanted a dog. It is hard to explain to a 4 year old why we will not have a dog…yet. The idea of a dog had gone away until this weekend, when Alan, Carrie and Sawyer came over. Now the dog is fresh in Joel’s mind and he is not letting go. He is even taking special care of his stuffed dog now…putting it down for a nap and all!

We will have a dog one day, I know this. I am ok with this too…as long as I am not the one cleaning up after it! I have enough to keep up with here with the boys and Heath! When we move to our land and have more room I think a dog will be a great addition to our family.

Do you have pets? What made you decide to have them or not have them in your house? Use the poll below and be sure to comment about your decisions!

 

4 Responses to “I blame him”

  1. Liberty Says:

    I have 3 boys, 2 big dogs and 2 cats. Even though my boys are young and it is a lot of work for my husband and I right now, the love that my boys have for our pets is priceless. They really do care for them and I would say go for it because it is worth it. But please know that both my husband and I are animal lovers! šŸ™‚

  2. Jennifer Says:

    we have a new kitten. We had a dog, not sure what happened to it šŸ˜‰ oh yeah, we found a nice farm for it to live on. American Fox Hounds are not neighborhood dogs.

  3. Crys Says:

    I’ve worked in the pet industry for a couple of years now, and the pet question has actually come up with my boys. I’ve told them, “When you’re old enough to take care of a dog, provide for the dog and can show me that you can be responsible – then we’ll discuss it.” And that’s the end of the conversation.

    I’ve seen far too many pets get bought as gifts for kids and then either don’t get cared for properly, get abandoned, or end up in a shelter. My boyfriend and his ex-wife actually got an iguana for the oldest boy when he first went potty on the toilet. I glared at him and told him “Not in this house.” And I made sure to tell him that he had better tell her the same thing.

    We have two cats right now. One of them is mine and the other is my parents (we’re taking care of her while they house hunt.) I’d like to get some other pets one day when the boys are all older, we have a bigger house and I know that I can afford to have them.

  4. Alan Binkley Says:

    So it seems I need to find time to read and write blogs again… Heavens…

    I have no idea what it is but me and that Joel have had a special connection since we met at Gower. Maybe it’s the fact that I see so much of my own meanness in him? Maybe it’s that our brains work on the same level? Maybe it’s both.

    Tell all three of those boys that Alan wants them to come play in the leaves with his dogs. *threads fingers and grins maniacally* The possibilities are endless!


Leave a Reply

