Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Striking a New Balance October 22, 2008

Filed under: Family,Me — fullofboys @ 7:03 am
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday began a new journey for me…really for our family. I began a new job outside the home. Actually, a portion will be done from home too. I can not really explain how excited I am about taking on a new job. There are many moms that I know that work outside the home full time flawlessly. I am amazed by them as they balance home and work. There are also many moms that I think are the perfect ‘stay at home’ moms as they find joy in motherhood that way. Both of these moms are important and I think can take motherhood just as seriously. I remember a conversation I had sometime ago with a friend about children. She made a statement that has played in my mind often. Her statement was something like ‘I think I would not be a good stay at home mom, I would want to work’. My heart totally got that statement. I never saw myself as a stay at home mom….ever. Truth be told, I never saw myself as a mom….let alone staying home. Staying home has brought new challenges to my life. There have been days that I did not feel fit to be a stay at home mom. There were days I actually resented Heath because he got to get out of the house. I learned a lot about my selfish heart and I learned how to put my family first. Honestly I am still learning to put my family first. I am hopeful the reason for that is because we are always evolving as a family. However, I suspect it is because I am constantly battling with my heart. Recently I had to tell a couple people that I would be unable to pursue a job that would exist in the near future. I knew that to take on this job would require a chunk of my time during weekend. It was the hardest choice to make to tell them that I would not be able to do that job.
Then this job came to me. It is a perfect fit. It is taking all the things I have done in the past on a smaller scale. I can go to the office some and I can work from home some. The best thing is that my boss is a Christian and a mom. She gets me needing to keep family first. My day yesterday was wonderful. I had a great time taking on new tasks and learning the ropes. There is so much to learn! I am thrilled to have the opportunity to do it! I am sure you will hear more soon!
Now we are off to striking a new balance in our house. I am still a stay at home mom…I am just working too!

What do you do when it is time to strike a new balance?

 

5 Responses to “Striking a New Balance”

  1. Laurie Says:

    Congratulations on the new job! you know I’ll be praying for you. Are you putting someone”s work life seamlessly in order with excel spreadsheets? I know how you like to :)))

  2. awesome news! congratulations!

  3. Crys Says:

    “I never saw myself as a stay at home mom….ever. Truth be told, I never saw myself as a mom….let alone staying home. Staying home has brought new challenges to my life.”

    I can totally relate to this statement, as I myself, am new to being a mom of three boys, with a full-time job that I (thankfully) get to work from home.

    I know that I’m new to your blog, but I really look forward to reading more about your new efforts in finding balance. I am also finding balance in this new lifestyle.

    Congratulations!!!

  4. Krista Says:

    Can I say how jealous/envious of you I am (in a good way)? I want to be home with my son, but some days it’s more than I can do to not pull my hair out from boredom and lack of outside contact!
    I wish I could find something like this and I hope it works out really well for you!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    glad you are enjoying your new job. Balance always comes after I get to go shopping alone;)


Leave a Reply

