Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

There Will Be A Day October 21, 2008

Filed under: Tuesday's Tune — fullofboys @ 7:08 am
Tags: , ,

I heard this song late last week and I knew immediately I wanted to put it on my blog. Give me a good build in music, great lyrics and a choir feel and I am almost sold. I think we can all think of things that we go through that are hard. I am not talking about the kids screaming and the dishes needing to be done hard. I am talking about the things that test your faith. And for me, brought me to a place of questioning who God was and if He really cared. Those were some dark days as I battled with the idea of abandonment. When these lines came on I had to fight back the tears.

I know the journey seems so long, you feel you’re walking on your own.
There has never been a step where you’ve walked out all alone

It took me several months to get to a place in my heart that I truly believed God was with me…in every trial and every setback. Towards the end of that time, I read a verse anew in the Bible. Hebrews 13:8 says that Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever. I had memorized that verse as a teen…and yet as an adult it struck me differently. I put my own spin on it…and still do. I personalized it…or maybe just modernized it. Here is my version:

‘God didn’t check out today. He didn’t think it was time for a vacation and leave me to fend for myself. He cares just as deeply about me today as He did 6 months ago, 6 years ago. His character has not failed, His integrity has not failed. His compassion and mercy renewed every morning. His loves still pours for me. His heart still aches with me. His tears flows alongside mine. He is still here…He has not left’

It took several months to get to where I could make that verse personal. Once I did, I never looked back. There will still some hard days but I found joy. During those months I simply had to get to where I believed that there would be a day that was better than today. A day when the pain of those around me would cease to exist. I learned to trust in the unseen and let go of trying to comprehend what Heaven might entail.

I think the following line really wraps this up well:

I can’t wait until that day when the very One I’ve lived for always will wipe away the sorrow I face

To touch the scars that rescued me from a life of shame and misery

 

Leave a Reply

