Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Camp Out of My Comfort Zone October 10, 2008

Filed under: Family — fullofboys @ 6:09 am
Tags: , ,

Do you see that picture? I would love to tell you that it is because I found a really pretty backpack and this is a picture from a magazine. Instead, I will tell you the truth…it is mine.

A year ago (at least) Heath found this pack on sale…he was really getting into backpacking and thought I might need this one day. I did use it…for one day. The camping trip to Land Between the Lakes.

Yep, me the inside loving, need an air conditioned space, prefer running water (from pipes not a creek) and a toilet that flushes. I like to cook my own food and cafeteria food scares me. I sleep in a soft bed not the hard ground. And yes, it is still my pack.

Isaiah has his first tiger cub scout camp out beginning tonight. He is incredibly excited. His daddy is out of town. Actually OUT OF STATE!! He is on a business trip. The man that likes to be outside and camp in a tent is AWAY! My first response was to tell Isaiah that we would not go…actually that was my response for a few days. Then, because 1st graders can be mean, a little boy told him that if he didn’t go on this trip he would not be able to be a tiger scout. Drama already! So after many tears (from him, I promise!) and much encouragement from Heath, I told Isaiah I would take him. Of course, this was also after I asked if there were bathrooms at the camping sites. I still have limits, you know.

Had there not been bathrooms…I had planned to ask my neighbor to take him! However, there are, and here I am…getting ready for my first trip camping…alone…with Isaiah. All week long I have described this feeling inside me as a knot in my stomach that makes me want to throw up and feel excited all the time. This will be a memory maker for sure!

My sister told me that pictures would not be enough, a video must be shown. I don’t think I am that brave but stay tuned, I am sure pictures and stories are soon to follow!

 

6 Responses to “Camp Out of My Comfort Zone”

  1. Okay I totally agree with your sister! But I am so proud of you girl! I can NOT wait to hear all about this! CALL ME! hehe

  2. For the most part, I’m a “Bed and Breakfast” or “Hyatt Regency” kinda girl. Although, I really enjoy camping out for 1-2 nights, nature walks and the water – as long as I can slip into my silk down comforter after a few days.

    Can’t wait to see the pics and hear the stories! Yes, we would all LOVE a video!!

  3. Jennifer Says:

    This is fabulous. I wish I could be a fly buzzing around your head while you are out there. I have to hear how this turns out. I do however have total faith that you will survive and it wont be as bad as your were expecting. Hey you may even pick up a new hobby after this !!??

  4. i can’t wait to read the blog posts AFTER the camping trip! 😉

  5. Alan Binkley Says:

    Jenn, you are a good Mom.

    That’s all that needs to be said.

    You are a good Mom. Love you guys.

  6. […] 13, 2008 I am sure you are waiting to hear how the camping trip went this weekend. I will be posting pictures and stories soon. in the mean time, I thought you […]


Leave a Reply

