Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Broken September 30, 2008

Filed under: Tuesday's Tune — fullofboys @ 6:49 am
Tags: , , ,

Can I just tell you that there are times that I hear a song and I sit in awe of lyrics as I realize that they describe me completely. Sometimes it is describing a present emotion or feeling and at times it is taking me back to days long past. Lifehouse is one of my all time favorite groups. It came as no surprise that I would like their new album. What did take me by surprise was how much this song got into me. The chorus had me in tears the other day. The lyrics say:

I’m falling apart but I’m barely breathing
With a broken heart that’s still beating
In the pain, there’s the healing
In your name, I find meaning
So I’m holding on, I’m holding on, I’m barely holding on to you

I wonder how many times I have come before God feeling like this? The number passes double and triple digits I am sure. I think I once bought into the idea that once you are in Christ, problems, pain and doubts seem to disappear. I have learned how wrong that it is. All those things still exist, it is just that I have a source of comfort that I did not have before.

I love the line I am barely holding on to you. There are times when I feel like I am clinging to God…searching for something. At times I am not sure that I know what I am expecting but just looking for meaning. And you know, those moments can still come when I feel the strongest in my faith. In fact, I think that those moments are just as equal as when I feel weak.

The best part of the song has to be the hope that is weaved through the lyrics. ‘I may have lost my way now, but I have haven’t forgotten my way home’ is pure hope. How many times do I get turned around and think I am lost? Too many I am sure…but I never forget how to get back to Him. Take a listen to the song below. I hope you like it just as much. Be sure to leave your thoughts!

 

3 Responses to “Broken”

  1. ransom33 Says:

    I loved the song. I am not familiar with this band, so thanks for introducing it to me. I shall look them up and try and purchase their music.

    Your post has been a blessing to me today as I have often felt God speaking to me through music and this song certainly reflects how I have felt in the past.

    I recently wrote a post entitled “Stuck in the Wilderness but NEVER lost” which very much echoes some of the sentiments you are sharing in yours.

    God bless you!

    http://www.ransom33.wordpress.com

  2. Holly Says:

    Great song! I think we’ve all been there – it’s just sometimes we don’t realize it until it is behind us. The great thing? He’ll never let go even if you do.

  3. susan2009 Says:

    This is a new band to me as well. Thanks for sharing a song that lets me know God is reading me like an open book. And while I am broken right now, it won’t always be that way. Thanks for the hope.


Leave a Reply

