Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

WFWM – Freezing food September 10, 2008

Filed under: Works For Me Wednesday — fullofboys @ 6:35 am
Tags: , , ,

Oh my goodness…I have found a product that I simply can not imagine not having in my kitchen. It goes right next to my silicone basting brush (if I had one – totally on my list!) and my heat resistant spatula/spoon combo! What could it be? It is the Reynolds Handi-Vac. I tend to buy my meat in large portions but I always have trouble keeping freezer burn off of it. Not anymore people! It is great because I can even dice up chicken and place it in the bag. With hunting season quickly approaching you can believe I will be using this tons! There are two different size bags you can get with this to determine the amount of meat that can fit in it. I use the small ones mostly…they hold about a pound and a half of ground beef or 2 chicken breasts cubed.

Best of all, it is relatively inexpensive! I think I paid $10.00 for the actual ‘vac’ and it came with three bags to try and batteries! While it is a little cost out of pocket to begin, it is saving me money by keeping the meat fresher for longer!

Works for me! What works for you? Check out Shannon’s list of participants here!

 

5 Responses to “WFWM – Freezing food”

  1. Ladybird Says:

    I am so jealous! I want one of those.

  2. Kama Says:

    My mom has one of those and it looks pretty cool. I’ll have to ask for one in the future. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. LIsa Says:

    That a great idea….adding it to my wish list!!

  4. […] Reynold’s Freezer Bags. I blogged about this here but I feel like I should say it again. These have revolutionized my freezer. I bought all my meat […]

  5. susan2009 Says:

    I never heard of this. Freezer burn is a big problem for me too. I am going to check this out. Thanks – you are saving many meals.


Leave a Reply

