Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Tuesday’s Tune – Addison Road August 26, 2008

Filed under: Tuesday's Tune,Uncategorized — fullofboys @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

Addison Road’s What Do I Know Of Holy is truly one of my favorite songs lately. In fact, Addison Road is quickly becoming one of my favorite Christian bands.

The reason I fell in love with this song is that it really felt like she was singing the quietest thoughts of my heart. I have been in church for as long as I can remember. I knew the hymns without ever opening a hymnal. I could recite the sinners prayer without much thought. I knew the creeds that we had to memorize. It was all very mechanical for me. I bounced back and forth for a few years between this desire to know God and the desire to be more like the world. For a period of time, God was something that was shallow and empty in my life. I can’t tell you the date that everything started to change but there was a change happening my heart and I began to learn about a relationship with Christ…no checklist required. I still have moments where I wonder who God is…he is deeper than I can imagine. I think I am at a place in life where I just desire to know him more. Some days I think I dive into Him, while others I sit along the shore. Yet, I simply love the mystery of Him.

I made You promises a thousand times
I tried to hear from Heaven
But I talked the whole time
I think I made You too small
I never feared You at all No
If You touched my face would I know You?
Looked into my eyes could I behold You?

(CHORUS)
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

I guess I thought that I had figured You out
I knew all the stories and I learned to talk about
How You were mighty to save
Those were only empty words on a page
Then I caught a glimpse of who You might be
The slightest hint of You brought me down to my knees

(CHORUS)
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

(CHORUS 2)
What do I know of Holy?
What do I know of wounds that will heal my shame?
And a God who gave life it’s name?
What do I know of Holy?
Of the One who the angels praise?
All creation knows Your name
On earth and heaven above
What do I know of this love?

(CHORUS)
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

What do I know of Holy?
What do I know of Holy?

 

2 Responses to “Tuesday’s Tune – Addison Road”

  1. Niquie Says:

    Thats beautiful Jenn. Thank you so much for that! Love to you and your family.

  2. susan2009 Says:

    I can relate to making God too small, me doing all the talking, telling the right stories and then being humbled beyond words at the glimpse of who He might be.

    Praise God for who He might me and the way that expands my heart, soul, mind, and actions. Thanks, AGAIN, fro sharing this potent song.


Leave a Reply

