Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Tuesday’s Tune – No More Drama August 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — fullofboys @ 6:04 am

This week’s song is No More Drama by Mary J. Blige. Yes, we went from Third Day last week to Mary J. Blige this week. I told you my music is quite varied!

Anytime I hear this song, I fall in love with it more. It captured me from the piano intro and keeps me tuned in as the bridge builds with the choir feel. The video is from her Grammy performance. I fell in love with this song at a time when I could truly identify with the words of it. I was learning to let go of a lot of things in the past and this song helped me get through some it. If you know me personally, you have probably heard me say ‘I don’t like drama’ or the famous ‘we are not in high school anymore’. It is true. I get tired of fears and tears. I had too many years that silent tears occupied my eyes. I get tired of the petty drama that occupies my life at times. I remember seeing her sing this on TV and crying the entire time she sang. Here are the lines I like best:

No more drama (I’m tired of all this drama)
No more drama (go ahead, go ahead, you demons getting out of my face)
No more drama (go get a my life, I’m about to lose my mind)
No more drama (Lord help me, help me sing)

I have been there…well, maybe not in front of thousands of people but in the presence of God and some friends. My Dad has seen first hand and heard the screams through the phone as I dealt with drama. I have literally had to scream with God until I lost my voice. Hear me, I was not angry at Him, I was angry with the way life was happening. Life was falling apart all around me, people were sick and dying, my mom was battling cancer again, children were starving, friends were sleeping around. I was here, in the middle of it all and stuck. The drama was consuming me…until I finally cried out to Him. Stuff is still happening, yet I deal with it differently. Crying out to God was what He needed from me. He needed me to get to the place where I knew that He was the only way to filter all the drama. I still get weary from it but this time, He is there with me.


No More Drama – Mary J. Blige

(talkin’)
So tired
Tired of all this drama
You go your way
I go my way (no more, no more)
I need to be free

(singin’)
Broken heart again
Another lesson learned
Better know your friends
Or else you will get burned
Gotta count on me
Cuz I can guarantee that I’ll be fine

No more pain (no more pain)
No more pain (no more pain)
No drama (no more drama in my life, no ones gonna make me hurt again)
No more in my life

Why’d I play the fool
Go through ups and downs
Knowing all the time
You wouldn’t be around
Or maybe I liked the stress
Cuz I was young and restless
But that was long ago
I don’t wanna cry no more

No more pain (no more pain x2 )
No more game (no more games messing with my mind)
No drama (no more drama in my life, no ones gonna make me hurt again, no more)
No more in my life

No more tears (no more tears, I’m tired of crying every night)
No more fears (no more fears I really don’t wanna cry)
No drama (no more drama in my life I don’t ever wanna hurt again)
No more in my life
Wanna speak ma mind wanna speak ma mind

Hooh it feels so good
When you let go
Of all the drama in your life
Now you’re free from all the pain (free from all the pain)
Free from all the games (free from all the games)
Free from all the stress (free from all the stress)
So find your happiness

I don’t know
Only god knows where the story ends for me
But I know where the story begins
It’s up to us to choose
Whether we win or lose
And I choose to win

No more pain (no more pain, no more pain, tired of crying)
No more game (tired of your planning games with my mind)
No drama (no more drama in my life)
No more in my life (no more x6)

So tired (I’m so tired)
Tired of all this drama

 

2 Responses to “Tuesday’s Tune – No More Drama”

  1. Morocco Says:

    Oh, I know the feeling! I am at a stage in life where I want to be at peace with all things and people! Mary J. has some really good songs. If you haven’t heard “My Life” you would like it. It is haunting.

    I love music of all kinds, too. One day it might be Eva Cassidy and the next day Top Authority. I find beauty in all genres.

  2. susan2009 Says:

    No more pain. That is a dream come true for so many.

    Only god knows where the story ends for me
    But I know where the story begins
    It’s up to us to choose
    Whether we win or lose
    And I choose to win

    Amen. Sister. I choose to win.


Leave a Reply

