Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Thankful Thursday June 5, 2008

Filed under: Family — fullofboys @ 6:15 am
Tags: ,

The last couple weeks have been wonderfully surprising for my husband. Since he is not the kind of person to brag (he would never bring attention to himself), I will do it for it for him.

It is a community service award presented by the campus police department for he and two of the guys who work for him. They have assisted the department several times this year. They were all invited to a lunch and then were surprised with this award. He is pretty humble about it…telling me only by attaching the picture in an email. Like I said, he does not draw attention to himself at all. For this Thankful Thursday, I decided to share some of the reasons I am thankful for my hubby!

* He is the most humble man I have ever met. He continues to serve quietly, not looking for accolades. Instead, when he serves he is truly doing it unto the Lord.

*He is a wonderfully wise man, yet when told that he quietly smiles and says that he doesn’t think that is possible. He ponders things often. He is slow to speak and quick to listen.

*He puts up with me…which just might be the best quality ever! He allows me the opportunities to serve on Sundays. He knows I am now perfect…my house shows it. He still comes home with a smile (albeit sometimes a tired smile).

*He trusts me. While he is at work, he allows me to run the house and gives me the freedom to make the decisions needed to run it daily. He believes that I can rise above frustrations and long days even when I feel like I am failing.

*He is a wonderful dad. He takes the boys (sometimes all three) on camping trips, canoeing or on short excursions to Lowes. He takes time to play cars on the floor or read a book, even if he is tired. When Silas was born, he was working a lot and was unable to be at the hospital with much after the day I delivered. But he always came in before work, during his lunch break and after work to see both of us…then hurry home to take care of the other boys!

Who are you thankful for today?

 

12 Responses to “Thankful Thursday”

  1. Tammy Says:

    Praise God for a wonderful husband that you can depend on and trust one another.

    Blessings,
    Tammy

  2. Nancie Says:

    Thank God for blessing you with such a wonderful husband. Thanks for sharing your thankful heart with us. Have a blessed Thankful Thursday!

  3. Chris Says:

    God is so good when He blesses us through our husbands!
    What a wonderful blessing
    Chris

  4. He is a great guy. Tell him congrats and that we’re proud of him!

  5. Michael Ivy Says:

    Congrats! It is nice to receive notice but I can understand his point!

  6. Melanie Says:

    What a wonderful blessing the Lord has given you in your husband!

    Happy Thankful Thursday!

  7. Kelsey Says:

    What a wonderful TT! Praise the Lord!

  8. Darlene Says:

    Fabulous post on your hubby.
    Happy TT!

  9. Denise Says:

    Such a sweet tribute to your dear husband. May he be blessed all the days of his life.

  10. Thank you for sharing that precious tribute to your husband. Your love and pride for him is so evident. Blessings!

  11. Sharon Says:

    God bless your husband! We need more men like that in the world.

  12. […] my dad and my father in law (who is like another dad to me). Since I spent last week covering my thankfulness for Heath, I think these other men in my life deserve some blog time too. These men are a significant part of […]


Leave a Reply

