Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

WFMW – Saving on Gifts May 21, 2008

Filed under: Christmas,Frugal,saving,Works For Me Wednesday — fullofboys @ 8:01 am
Tags: , , ,

I shop all year long, really. I love it. Part of the reason I love it is I love to go on a hunt for a good deal. Every Sunday I am looking over all the ads from the paper, pairing them with coupons and making a list. But it does not stop there. I am always on the lookout for a ‘perfect’ gift for someone. As soon as Christmas is finished, I am shopping for Christmas the following year. We budget $25 a month for all our Christmas gifts. For those of you who don’t want to add it up, it is a total of $300 a year. This includes not just gifts for our extended family but for the boys too. Add into that the amount of gift wrap and $300 seems to disappear quickly. However, by budgeting that amount every month, if I see something in June on clearance that would be perfect for someone, I pick it up then. Shopping a little at a time affords us the opportunity to give better gifts than if we didn’t start shopping until December. In order not to lose the gifts I purchase, I keep them all together in a chest in our room. Last year I added up my savings from all the gifts we purchased to see what we were saving show my husband what a good shopper I was and we had saved close to $250! Shopping a little at a time, budgeting all year long and looking for deals really works for me!

 

8 Responses to “WFMW – Saving on Gifts”

  1. Janet Sikes Anderson Says:

    Cool Idea! Thanks!

    I like the way you showed your “edit” in the “…see what we were saving/show my husband what a good shopper…” quote. Clever.

    -Janet Sikes Anderson, Do The Write Thing Publishing, Do The Write Thing Publishing’s Weblog

  2. Wani Says:

    Thanks for sharing what works for you! I’m a shop throughout the year person too! C’mon by Wani’s World to check out free films!

  3. I totally do this too! I love it and it saves so much $$$!

  4. Melinda Says:

    Great idea! We do this too. Otherwise we wouldn’t be able to afford Christmas!

  5. Amanda Says:

    This is something I’ve always wanted to do and I think I might start this now. That way I’m not scrambling at the last second. Thanks for the tip!!

  6. We buy like this during the year also. The only problem we find is some years we have found such good deals that we have a little much for the kids for Christmas. But we give it away so I guess that is not a problems is it.

  7. Storm Says:

    Awesome! I shop all year round too.

  8. Angela Says:

    I used to be a through the year shopper, and have not been doing so well with it-just half as much. 😉 I do a great job for our little family-we don’t need much. However, now that siblings are married, their wives have set up expensive wish lists for them and their children. It is just too much. If we get something not on the list, they don’t understand and are offended. They are mostly things that must be purchased online with shipping added. I don’t mind getting things off the list if I can, but that means I need to wait until closer to the date. I’ve considered buying something off the list now (watching for sales) for Christmas, yet when things dissapear off the list and don’t show up, they believe there must be a glitch…or they inevitably get the item if they want it badly enough and then by the time I give it to them it is a duplicate. Sometimes they also change their mind about what they want and update the list right before Christmas of course. There is really only one family that is rude about this, but I know they’d all rather get what they ask for. I have tried to find a way to make this work by getting things with a “theme” they love. For example if one loves watercolors or bath treats or cookbooks, I can look for that type of thing and surprise them, but that doesn’t seem to be working either. Hand made gifts are not what they want either. You are probably thinking I need to tell them to get their own gifts, but I truly want this to work. They are in dual income households, but as seems to be the case usually, they do not think about that. I cannot keep up. Any ideas short of saying “no more gift exchanges”?


Leave a Reply

