Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Give me those titles…please! March 5, 2008

Filed under: Works For Me Wednesday — fullofboys @ 7:11 am
Tags: ,
wfmwsmall.jpg

So it is another edition of Works for Me Wednesday but this time it is the backwards edition. I normally approach this one with a little fear as I never really know how to ask for help. However, instead of a little fear, this week I was super excited.

I am trying to compile a list of books that I think are important to read. Somehow I went all through high school reading Clif Notes and never opened the books! So, I have never read any of the Classics like Grapes of Wrath or, well, I can’t think of another one right now. I also want to read some newer books too. I am reading Blue Like Jazz now and we are getting ready to read Becoming a Contagious Christian for our group.

So what do you have for me? What books can you recommend I add to my ‘got to read list’?

Feel like giving advice to others, click here!

 

21 Responses to “Give me those titles…please!”

  1. Pick up a copy of Susan Wise’s book,

    The Well Educated Mind.

    It’s a complete guide to reading the Classics you may have missed along the way.

  2. Good question. I’ll be back to read the answers.

  3. Tonggu Momma Says:

    My top 25, in no particular order:

    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
    The Bible
    Winnie the Pooh by AA Milne
    A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
    Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    All Quite on the Western Front by E M Remarque
    Tess of the D’urbevilles by Thomas Hardy
    Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
    Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
    Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
    Wild Swans by Jung Chang
    The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
    The Scarlett Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
    The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
    Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
    Roots by Alex Haley
    The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
    The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger
    The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan
    Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
    The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by JRR Tolkien
    A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Solzenhitsyn
    1984 by George Orwell

  4. Britni Says:

    There are way too many to list. If you do a google search for best books of all time, or must read books, you get plenty. Some of my favorites are the obvious Jane Austen’s, Charles Dickens, but I also really like anything by Anne Tyler. Good luck πŸ™‚

  5. Krista Says:

    Tonggu Momma has a great list! I’ll add the following:

    *Animal Farm by George Orwell
    *At least one Shakespeare play…try Romeo and Juliet for starters
    *The Republic by Plato (at least excerpts from…he and his Greek buddies were foundational for Western Thought and Culture)
    *Something by Camus, an important 20th century philosopher
    *Harry Potter (at least to read what all the ruckus is about; don’t worry, it won’t kill your faith if you are grounded in the Word)
    *The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom
    *Anne Frank: Diary of a Young Girl (a staple in middle school education…read what ‘they’ are teaching in our nation’s schools)
    *The Iliad and The Odyssey
    *Something from Op.rah’s list (because the uneducated, lemming-minded masses that make up the majority of our nation’s citizens are also reading them)
    *Holes by Louis Sachar (Newbery book from…2002?)
    *More Newbery Award Winners
    *Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (excellent modern fiction, Christian worldview, etc.)

  6. jennifer Says:

    I’m not much into reading classics, but 1 book that I myself carry around with me and refer to often is The Secret by Rhonda Byrne. It helps get me motivated sometimes when I really need it! Doesn’t beat the Bible of course but def makes a great read for times when you you need a postive outlook!!

  7. Sarah Says:

    So many books so little time is what I say πŸ™‚ I am a bookworm. Biographies are good try Darlene Deibler Rose titled Evidence Not Seen or Inge but I can’t remember the author, he name is Inge ??

    Gone with the Wind is my all time favorite
    Les Miserables
    Books by:
    Wanda Brunstetter
    Beverly Lewis
    Kim Vogel Sawyer
    Cindy Woodsmall
    Liz Curtis Higgs
    Lori Wick

  8. Aunt LoLo Says:

    Hmm….Tender at the Bone, Ruth Reichl; My Antonia; Way to Be, Gordon B. Hinckley; If Life Were Easy, it Wouldn’t Be Hard, Sherri Dew; Book of Mormon; Till We Have Faces, CS Lewis (also, his Chronicles of Narnia series)

    That’s all that comes to mind right now!

  9. Jendeis Says:

    Last year I went through _1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die_. I find it to be a wonderful resource for different books that are all heralded as classics from pre-1600’s through to today.

  10. swtgrl1231 Says:

    Wow! I read so much this is hard to answer. Some classic books that I have chosen to read include: all Jane Austen’s (love them all but Pride and Predjudice is my favorite), J.R.R. Tolkein’s Lord of the Rings Trilogy and The Hobbit, The Scarlet Letter, The Scarlet Pimpernel (love this book!), The Odyssey and The Illiad by Homer, and The Chronicles of Narnia. I have decided that I do not like the Bronte sisters or Russian literature because I find in too depressing but I did at least try. One other other I would recommend is Corrie ten Boom. I noticed someone recommended her “The Hiding Place.” She is one of my heros and love reading her books. I plan to pick up the original fairy tales as written by The Brothers Grimm ( which I hear are much darker than the Disney versions). Have fun!

  11. Kara S. Says:

    Wow! You’ve got a great list going already. I definitely second Sarah’s recommendation of Evidence Not Seen – have a tissue box handy as you read. Darlene’s story is a true testimony to God’s grace and miracles. Other books that I didn’t see mentioned were L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables and Emily of New Moon. If you enjoy European history and World War I, the Thoene’s Zion Chronicles and Zion Covenant series are really good. Judith Pella also has a good series, Daughters of Fortune, set in the World War era.

  12. lisa (lost pezhead) Says:

    jane eyre is my fav!! love stories….

    i recently read a tree grows in brooklyn….excellant! newer classic.

    the woman in white, by wilke collins (good mystery, good writing) older classic

    grapes of wrath is SOOO good…long and very detailed, so worth the read – great depression book, so though provoking.

    so many more!! happy reading!

  13. lisa (lost pezhead) Says:

    ahh ok, Jane Eyre is by Charlotte Bronte…it’s excellant. the language is amazing and it is a great story of a woman struggling to over come her status and falling in love of course and a few good mysteries. I hear Emily Bronte isn’t as good (i havent’ read wuthering heights or any of hers yet). don’t be scared of the Brontes! you’ll feel so smart after reading such elevated language, though not quite as hard as dickens!

  14. mom2fur Says:

    Definitely “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

    Stephen King’s book “The Stand,” is IMHO, one of the best stories of good vs. evil ever written–even if it might take you a year to get through it, I highly recommend it.

    “In Cold Blood.” A true crime story, and one I wish I’d read years ago. It was written by Truman Capote back in the 50s and is hands down one of the best books I’ve ever read.

    I just finished “The Children of Men,” by P.D. James. The movie was based on this, but the book is much better!

    I loved “The Thorn Birds,” too!

  15. akeorlando Says:

    Have you ever read ‘Dead Man Walking’? Yes, the movie is great, but the book is much more powerful.

  16. It’s totally not a classic, but I just read Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers…and I think I would consider it an important read at this point in my life. It was riveting (which is necessary, if I’m going to get through a book anymore!), and I learned a lot about God’s love for me (which is a welcome blessing too!).

    I agree with so many of the above books – just thought I would list something a bit different.

  17. The Great Gatsby and The Scarlet Letter

  18. “God Said Yes” by Heather Hornback-Bland, AWESOME BOOK!!!!! She was accidentally run over by her mother at age 4, has had 187+ operations, 13 medical miracles, and has led the most incredible life! She has the most amazing outlook on life. Even after all she’s been through, there are no pity parties and she is such a go-getter. A must read, especially if you’re ever feeling sorry for yourself!

  19. jodi Says:

    I’ve been wanting to read the classic “Little Women” and also “Redeeming Love”. Maybe this will by my year! πŸ™‚

  20. Thanks for stopping by my blog and sharing your book recommendations for boys! (And I’m sorry I provided the wrong link. Thanks for taking the time to find the right page!) I will definitely check out The Boy Who Loved Words. It sounds perfect! I can’t believe I forgot about Encyclopedia Brown. I loved those books as a child!

    Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

