Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

My favorite family product February 23, 2008

Filed under: Family,Group Writing Project,kids — fullofboys @ 9:28 am

I love the idea of group writing projects. It isn’t because more people can find out about my blog, I just enjoy having the forum to discuss things and gain perspective from other bloggers. I generally read posts and think ‘why didn’t I think of that?’ or ‘wow, that is a great idea’. I was really excited when I learned Does Mommy Love It is having a one of these projects. Even if you are not a mom, chances are you know children and you need items for their birthdays or baby showers. This site is great about telling you what does and does not work! I have really enjoyed their information already so you can imagine the excitement that rose up in me when I read ‘group writing project’.

That is until I read the topic! The topic is about one family product I can not live without. This should be easy right? I mean just the other day I was told I was an ‘experienced’ mom. Surely I should know the *best, perfect, right* answer. And yet, all week long I have thought on this. I just can’t narrow it down. I tossed out some ideas (like diapers and extra crib sheets) but past that it is getting tough.

The challenge for me was more about the longevity of an item rather than the use in the moment. There are some things that I thought were wonderful when I had my first but by the time I had my third, I didn’t need them. So taking this approach, I came up with the one thing I have used with all three boys…and still do.

book.jpg

My pick is the book ‘Caring For Your Baby and Young Child. I am not kidding that this book has been a huge resource for me numerous times. It is for children Birth to age 5 and covers things like skills for each age, sample menus and even games you can play with a baby to develop skills. The back of the book offers advice on all sorts of illnesses from fever to chest or heart issues. It has helped me understand the details of an illness and some ways to identify or treat them. The menus were a life saver when my sons would not eat and I was trying to figure out how to give them more nutritious items.

I am sure there are tons of other things that are my favorite family products but this ranks right up there for me! Check out the other posts at Does Mommy Love It!

 

9 Responses to “My favorite family product”

  1. Jenn Says:

    This book sounds like a good resource. I’ll have to check it out. Now I am headed to your next blog… Personal DNA… sounds interesting!

  2. What a great choice! I have never seen this book but it seems like it would be invaluable! Thanks for joining the project!!!

  3. missy Says:

    I wish I’d have known about this book when my daughter was young! I was constantly calling my mom, probably driving her batty. I’ll have to keep it in mind for future baby gifts!

  4. This looks and sounds like a great resource. Oh, and you are an ‘experienced’ mom. And, I appreciate all of your helpful hints! THANKS!

  5. Aunt LoLo Says:

    I have this book and I love it! My wee one is only 17 months old…but this book has been so terribly useful!

    Thanks for your comment on my blog.

  6. Jennifer Says:

    I got this book for free from the Publix Baby Club but neverr reallly looked at it. I’ll have to take another look. Thanks for the tip.

  7. misi Says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and I agree that book is a lifesaver. I think Publix sent it to me when I joined the Bbabyclub or something…

  8. Julie Says:

    I don’t have this book, but I have a couple of others that are similar (one from Mayo Clinic and one from Focus on the Family). They have been life savers!

  9. Melissa Says:

    My friend let me borrow hers because I never heard of it. Then I had to find one for myself. This book is wonderful, A must have for any mom of young children.


Leave a Reply

