Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

What is Greatness for my children? January 31, 2008

Filed under: Faith,Family — fullofboys @ 8:40 am

Am I the only mom who has aspirations for her children? Please, tell me you do it too. At times I get caught up with the idea of who or what my child will become. Possibly an actor, maybe a negotiator or could it be professional football player? I am just hoping they won’t be in jail!

I have been thinking about this for some time now. When my husband and I married, we made a commitment to one another. It wasn’t in our vows and really wasn’t something we shared with people. It was a commitment that there was no way out of marriage. Every man in his family had at least one divorce in their life. He did not want to follow in those footsteps. The second thing we said was that together we would make right our family name.
Three sons later and I see how God is allowing that spoken prayer to be fulfilled.  We now have three boys who will carry on our family name, but now what?

While I still want to them to do great things in their lives, I think my idea of ‘greatness’ is changing. The Bible says the following: “Whatever you do in word or in deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father“.  More than what position they hold in their career or even what their career choice is, I simply want them to glorify God. Greatness to be is that they be full of integrity, slow to anger and quick to love, moved by compassion for others daily and at the end of the day, regardless of how good or bad it may have been, that they praise the Lord for that day.

I still think of what career they will chose as they grow up. I still encourage them in their strengths and want them to pursue things they enjoy. I am just finding that at the end of the day, I am giving God thanks for placing them in my life, regardless of what is happening in our lives.

 

2 Responses to “What is Greatness for my children?”

  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    – Randy Nichols.

  2. dummling Says:

    Your family sounds great. You know it’s funny, but I live in India and the perception about the West here is that people there divorce easily and the kids don’t have values..but it’s not true. I’ve lived in New York and while there may be a higher rate of divorces there, one can’t make that into a value judgment. In India there are fewer divorces because people would rather live in terrible marriages than part ways for the fear of society.

    Anyway, it’s so great to read your blog and about your family.

    I too thank God for my daughter who is adorable and I could not have asked for a better child.

    I am sure your boys will turn out right, it’s all in the upbringing and you seem to be doing a fine job!


Leave a Reply

