Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Picketing a Funeral? January 23, 2008

Filed under: Christ,Faith — fullofboys @ 11:49 am

I must tell you I was in shock with I got the call that Heath Ledger died. I wasn’t a huge fan of his but it had more to do with the fact he was so young. I keep up with entertainment news often so I knew he had a young daughter. Turns out she was 2. The idea of dying so young, leaving a young child behind. It was just hard for me to think of that little girl learning her daddy was gone. Regardless of how he died, he left behind friends, career, a child. Things I would leave behind if I was gone. I processed it and thanked God I was still here and I could hug my boys goodnight when I tucked into bed last night.

Then I read this. If you don’t want to read it I will tell you that is says a church will picket his funeral because of his role in Brokeback Mountain. Seriously, I had to read it twice to believe it. I heard about it on the radio too. This is really getting around now. For goodness sake, what do we stand for as Christians that we are willing to go to the lengths of picketing someone’s funeral? I may not agree with every decision someone makes but I sure as heck would not take such a delicate and emotional time and exploit it. Furthermore, what gives us the right to cast judgement on anyone? Jesus told the Pharisees that if one of them was without sin they could cast the first stone at the woman. What happened? They all left and it was up to Jesus to cast that stone. And he didn’t of course.

I often wonder who gave us the idea that we could throw stones at people for just being people. We all have all made poor decisions, messed up something we regretted and just plain sinned. At the end of the day, Jesus doesn’t look at us, shake his head disapprovingly and say get ready for the smack of this rock. Instead, I believe he looks at me with soft eyes, open arms and says I am forgiven. Not perfect, forgiven.

He seemed to tolerate a lot of people, good and bad, in His day and still was the Son of God. If He can do things like eat with sinners why can’t I do the same thing? Picketing a funeral sure doesn’t seem like the thing Jesus would do. In fact, I think instead you just might find Him weeping for the loss of that little girl. 

 

4 Responses to “Picketing a Funeral?”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    you always seem to be thinking the same things as I am. That is a truly unfortunate situation. Really picket the gay pride parade if you must not a funeral.

  2. […] just read this post at Jenn’s blog “Raising Boys” and I couldn’t believe it.  It is about […]

  3. Carmen Says:

    Crazy. Crazy enough that I even did a post on it too. (Seeing how little I post lately – that’s saying something!)

  4. Shadow Weaver Says:

    I’m an atheist myself, but I agree with what you have to say.


Leave a Reply

