Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Thankful Thursday – Holiday Round Up January 10, 2008

Filed under: Christmas,Family,Thankful Thursday — fullofboys @ 12:22 pm

ttbutton.jpg

I have not had a chance to post on our holiday events so I think now is a good time to do that. Most of my family lives in town but there are always tons of celebrations. This year we had 5 different events to attend with our families. It can be a bit overwhelming but I really love it. I think family is important. The holidays are a bit sobering, too. Some people in my family are not Christ followers. It saddens me to think that the joy of Christmas is missed in their hearts.

Christmas is also the time we as a family is blessed. Our parents are so generous during this time. In previous years we have received a stroller for a baby on the way, baby formula that lasted half a year, and this year we got diapers. While they may not seem huge to many people, they are incredible blessings to us. It allows us the freedom to put money into savings or towards other items. The boys are also blessed as they get clothes, toys and books. One set of grandparents opened a savings account for each of them on their first Christmas and makes a deposit as part of their gift every year after. The boys may not know it now, but that will be a wonderful gift when they are old enough to appreciate the value of money.

This year, Heath and I decided not to budget extra money for gifts for each other and decided to buy for the boys instead. My parents got wind of that and my mom took each boy out to pick out a gift just for us. She wrapped them all, sent them to our house and on Christmas morning Heath and I each had a gift from each boy under our tree. It wasn’t necessary but it was a wonderful gift.

dsc01764.jpg
Some of the gifts at one celebration!

Yes, I may have to find a new place for the toys and books. I might need to hold some of the clothes until they grow into them. But at the end of the day, I look around and see blessings and I am thankful. I am thankful not for the items in my house but for the people who took time to bless us with them.

For other posts on thankfulness, check out Unequal Marriage, as she guest hosts this week.

 

6 Responses to “Thankful Thursday – Holiday Round Up”

  1. Courtney Says:

    It’s always the thought that counts, right?

  2. Denise Says:

    Bless you for sharing your thankfulness.

  3. Susan Says:

    Hi,

    So nice to meet you. I’m living with a house full of boys too. I’m the mom of 5 sons! It’s been a wild and crazy life, but I would not trade for anything.

    Now my reward, 3 beautiful grand-daughters! I’m having so much fun.

    Blessings to you this TT!

  4. Angie Says:

    I was late with my Christmas posting too….I guess we were just too busy enjoying Christmas! Thanks for sharing your blessings of sons!

  5. Iris Says:

    Your parents and in-laws seem such a blessings in your life. How wonderful thoughtful they have been. And diapers is a huge blessing – I remember how much they are and you sure go through a lot of them.

    Thank you so much for sharing your thankful heart with us this week.

    Be blessed today and always.

  6. Lynn Donovan Says:

    Hi,

    I really enjoyed this post and God bless your Mother. I love her for her heart and thoughtfulness. Thank you for sharing your Christmas with me. Love and hugs, Lynn


Leave a Reply

