Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

WFMW – Help with Milk January 9, 2008

Filed under: Works For Me Wednesday — fullofboys @ 11:41 am
wfmwsmall.jpg

I am so glad today is a Backwards Wednesday edition of Works for Me. Because, I so need some advice on this topic.

My 18 month old son, Silas, has recently decided that milk just isn’t for him. The older boys love milk so much so that I have to ration it to them or they fill up on that and nothing else.  Not so with Silas. Silas sees me get the milk out of the fridge and starts screaming…after he has screamed for his cup. I have continued to pour it and hand him the cup only for him to throw the cup down and have a tantrum. He does drink juice occasionally but not too often. I know he could be wanting the juice but I am at a loss on how to get him to drink milk. He does eat pretty well but doesn’t care for things like cheese or yogurt on their own. I have to sneak in cheese to get him to eat it. Anyone have some ideas? I could sure use them!

If you have more advice, be sure to check out Shannon’s page.

 

10 Responses to “WFMW – Help with Milk”

  1. Alana Says:

    We went through something similar with water until my daughter discovered “The Straw”. Somehow the novelty of being able to use an object to deliver her drink thrilled her and she became the thirstiest little girl ever – she was also 18 months when this happened.

  2. Aubrey Says:

    If you’re worried about calcium, you could try adding yogurt or ice cream. I’ve never met a kid who wouldn’t eat ice cream. Maybe put some honey or a favorite fruit or cereal mixed in with the yogurt. Chocolate milk wouldn’t be too bad in limited quantities either. And I LOVE soy milk. It’s a little more expensive, but still has the same amount of calcium.

  3. Have you tried flavoring the milk with chocolate or strawberry syrup? How about offering frozen gogurts? We call them popsicles around here. Or try the cheese that come in fun shapes, like stars and dinosaurs.
    Hope that helps! 🙂

  4. Krista Says:

    Yeah, so I was going to suggest soy or rice milk…
    Also, is it a super bad thing that he doesn’t like milk? I’ve a tendency to believe that we drink too much in this country (I’ve heard research that our milk has too much protein in it and that actually more than counteracts the calcium). There are lots of vegetables like broccoli (the only one I can think of at the moment) that have tons of calcium in them. Does he like veggies at all? That might help.
    🙂

  5. Kristin Says:

    I love the name Silas. That was on our list, but we went with a different S name.

    My number 4 wouldn’t drink milk – I agree, try strawberry or chocolate. Also, get a bowl w/ a straw in it so he might drink the milk after he’s eaten his cereal.

    Your son might have an aversion to dairy – like lactose which is why he’s avoiding it. Maybe offer him soy milk and see if that works.

    Try a very snazzy cup!

    if those things don’t worry – chill out, he’ll come around and he won’t die, I promise.

  6. Sarah Says:

    I would try some lactose free milk. Maybe it’s bugging his tummy. Or he could even be allergic, especially since he doesn’t seem to like other forms of milk (like cheese) either. Soy or Almond milk is better. Rice really isn’t for under 2 (not enough fat). There are other ways to get Calcium in him but really he needs the Fat. It is what helps develop there brain, which is why they say whole milk under 2.

  7. Laura Says:

    I often make “milkshakes” for my littlest guy. I do NOT want to give him added sugar found in choc. or strawberry milk mixes. So, I make my own treat with a little cocoa powder, liquid stevia and a drop of vanilla. Pop in a straw and it’s gone in minutes! For Strawberry shakes, put milk, frozen strawberries, stevia and vanilla in blender and mix until strawberries are blended up. We all love these at our house! (btw, my house is full of boys too, 4 of them plus a daddy…I try to wear lots of pink!)

  8. Angela Says:

    I’d not worry about the milk. Feed him other foods, greens even, that have calcium. I wouldn’t stress about it at all. Let him go through that stage and give him lots of water.

    (Could you please delete the other comment at 2:49…it has something wrong in the website line that I’d rather not be there for security reasons. Thanks!!!)

  9. Becky Says:

    Milk tastes different coming out of a sippy cup. Try using a cup that doesn’t have a stopper in it. My kids started drinking milk after I switched sippy cups.

  10. jodi Says:

    I agree with the comments that say don’t worry about it. I read once how cow’s milk is not intended for human consumption and many allergies and ADHD problems can be solved by eliminating it from the diet.

    That being said, he does need calcuim which can be found elsewhere. My daughter LOvES plain soy milk. I’ve heard the vanilla flavor is not bad either. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

