Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Becoming a Pioneer January 7, 2008

Filed under: church planting,Faith,Me — fullofboys @ 3:37 pm

    I love my comfort zone. It goes with me everywhere. I never stray far from it…in fact, I don’t think I have stepped out of it in years. It is like a favorite blanket and it keeps me warm. It also gives me confidence that I can handle just about anything.

Over the last few months, I have noticed that God has been taking me out of my comfort zone. At first, it was ok. I joined my son’s PTO and met parents I would have never met before and now really enjoy. Heath and I got to know new friends, some who we really can’t imagine being without. Then, we have had the opportunity to start a new church in our area. That is taking me out of my comfort zone.

I  know, you wouldn’t think that being in my home area I would feel uneasy but I do. We would drive about 40 minutes east of where we live to go to church. It wasn’t always this way. When we started there we lived closer, then we moved father into the country. Then the church moved closer to the big city. With the new church, we only need to drive 15 minutes west of us. It is so much closer.

Everyone is excited. There are about 50 – 75 people starting this satellite church from the main campus and it is humbling to be part of some fantastic people. However, this is one the hardest things I have had to do in my walk with Christ yet. We had been at the main church since it began 5 years ago. We formed friendships and became ‘family’ with people there. I knew that if I was in crisis (and had been before), I could call the staff of the church and they would help me out. They are more than staff to me, they are good friends. I knew I could walk in on any given Sunday and know my child’s teacher so well because they had taught my other children. Some of my closest friends were women who were pregnant at the same time as I was. You can’t recreate those friendships.

And yet, here I am leaving that comfortable place. This last Sunday was a prayer service. I cried often during that time as I felt I was grieving what I was leaving behind. An hour does make a difference regardless of what people say. I will miss those people that I saw every Sunday. You would think with so many people coming from the main campus I would know them but I don’t know any of them that well. Which does make this a little more challenging.

Don’t get me wrong, I am excited. However, it is the excitement you feel as you crest the top of a roller coaster. Part of you is ready for the ride of your life and part of you just wants off. This journey is a new one of trust, both in Christ and in people. I am forging new friendships every time we meet.

As my one of my pastor’s told me “sometimes God allows us to be settlers, sometimes he asks us to pioneers. I think you and Heath are being asked to be pioneers again”. So if God is asking me to be a Pioneer, I want to be one that completely glorifies Him in every action I do, every word I speak. I want to be so consumed by my Saviour that he becomes my comfort zone that wraps tightly around me. Simply, I want to be His.

 

2 Responses to “Becoming a Pioneer”

  1. jodi Says:

    Best of luck in your new endeavor. Our Sunday School teacher told us last week that you know your growing in your faith when you are “nervous for Christ”. I have 2 situation coming up this year making me nervous: 1. I begin budget couseling next week and I have to pray with the families…that is way out of my comfort zone! And 2. Hubby and I are going on a mission trip to Honduras. Our first one and I’m afraid to fly! Yikes!

    In a way it feels good to be nervous for Him! 🙂

  2. […] Faith, Me, church planting — by Jenn @ 12:07 pm A couple weeks ago, I wrote about the launch of the new campus of our church. I haven’t written an update for several reasons…most of them all […]


Leave a Reply

