Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

It’s a backward’s Wednesday! November 7, 2007

Filed under: Works For Me Wednesday — fullofboys @ 4:24 pm

 wfmwheader.jpg

Shannon over at Rocks in My Dryer is mixing it up today. Instead of giving ideas for her Works For Me Wednesday, she is asking for them! And what a relief to see all the people participating! We are in our first year of elemetary school. Isaiah and Heath walk out the door by 715a. Needless to say, it is an early morning here on school days. Almost every morning, I default to cereal for breakfast because of it simplicity. What other ideas do you all have? We do used frozen waffles and pancakes but it is so much cheaper to do cereal.

Let me know what works for you!

 

13 Responses to “It’s a backward’s Wednesday!”

  1. jen Says:

    We will do the Oscar Meyer Bacon where you only have to heat it up in 35 seconds and I can cook eggs in the microwave in less than 3 minutes….the kids like this…or make a breakfast casserole the night before pop in oven while everyone gets ready in the morning and you will have leftovers for at 2 days….we also do oatmeal…french toast sticks in the microwave and waffles…..good luck!

  2. megret Says:

    Are you guys oatmeal fans? There is an awesome overnight apple oatmeal recipe online (just search for it) that is cooked all night in the crock pot. Can’t be easier than that….and it’s economical AND yummy.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I make a lot of muffins and quick breads for our breakfasts. The quick part? I make them the night before while I am cooking dinner. Frequently I will get dinner together and put it in the oven and then have some down time before it is actually ready. I mix up scratch muffins and breads and stick them in the oven at the same time dinner is cooking. (saves energy!) The muffins cool while we are eating dinner and in the morning all I need to do is add butter and a fruit or yogurt and breakfast is ready.

    Good luck!

  4. Nikke Says:

    A couple of my favorites are when I make pancakes I purposely make extra and freeze them. There are 2 other quickies that my boys like:

    Piggly Wigglys:
    This is basically like Pigs-in-a-blanket only it uses breakfast sausages instead of hotdogs.
    Seperate the crescent rolls and place a link sausage in the center. Roll up. Bake on a greased cookie sheet. These are fast and yummy. **I have even made them the night before and warmed them up in the morning.

    Sausage Cheese Rolls:
    Take 1 lb Breakfast sausage, 3c Bisquick mix and 1 lb Chedder cheese
    Combine sausage, bisquick and grated cheese and mix
    very well. Form into 1 to 2 inch size balls. Place
    on ungreased baking sheet and bake at 300 degrees for
    25 to 30 minutes or until lightly browned. May be made
    ahead and frozen.

    Both of these are quick and tasty but can also be eaten on the run if needed!

  5. smkirklin Says:

    Most mornings my kids have frozen sausage patties from Walmart heated in the microwave and cinnamin toast waffles made in the toaster and dipped in syrup and a little bit of fruit.

  6. Martie Says:

    I make ahead huge batches of homemade muffins and the kiddos take one or two from the freezer and pop them in the microwave. We also do PB&J sandwiches and stuff like that. As long as it’s wholesome, I have no problem with it!

    Good luck,

    Martie

  7. TX Poppet Says:

    Fruit and yogurt, scrambled eggs, and toast and jam can all be thrown together in under three minutes. I loved when mine got the stage where I could lay their clothes out for them to pull on themselves. Those few little minutes when I could run into the kitchen were a life saver. Found your blog via WFMW. Glad I did.

  8. Angie D Says:

    I have the same question. What has worked for us (besides cereal, which is great, by the way) for variety’s sake is:

    Toast with cheese melted on top with fruit on the side.
    My oldest loves hummus, so she opts for that instead of cheese. You’ll also find peanut butter and banana sandwiches on our breakfast plates.

    Love this question.

    PS-And thanks for the chocolate! 🙂

  9. Tanya Says:

    Make up some muffins, you can warm them in the microwave for a few seconds and they’re great. We also have yogurt on muffin days – I think the protein in the yogurt helps to sustain their appetite longer.

  10. Lisa Says:

    I make breakfast burritos, individually wrap in wax paper and freeze them. 1lb sausage, bag of cheese, 10-12 eggs and 20 or so “burrito” sized tortialls. Stuff wrapped burrritos in the tortialla bag a freeze. Microwave for 1 minute or so till hot. My 13 year old leaves the house each morning with one in each hand! other alternatives are hard boiled eggs, oatmeal in a cup or fried bolonag or bacaon & egg sandwich. Any bacon on sale is our brand!

  11. jodi Says:

    I’m with Jennifer and Tanya…we like muffins around here. You can get the bags of mix on sale quite often and one bag makes 6 muffins. I like Jennifer’s idea of making them the night before right along with dinner, but even if you don’t, they only take about 12 minutes to get done. We ususally eat ours with sliced apples or bananas.

  12. Marie Says:

    Every morning my kids have either a scrambled egg or nuked pre-cooked sausage links with a carrot muffin or oatmeal bar, and some kind of fruit. Very quick, easy, and maybe even somewhat healthy!

  13. Michelle Says:

    The incredible, edible egg!!


Leave a Reply

