Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

His view October 29, 2007

Filed under: Faith,Me — fullofboys @ 2:43 pm

I had the chance this last Sunday to sing in a choir at church. There were 12 of us in the choir. It was fabulous for so many reasons. One of the reasons was that I was able to do something I have wanted to do for years, sing. It has been since before I got married that I have done any type of public singing. I love to sing, I love to read lyrics and listen for the background vocals. I also love worship. For me, worship is a time when I an intimately connect with God. I often find myself in awe of God, His presence and His grace (among other things) that bring me to tears. This past Sunday the choir did a song called ‘Take My Life’. It is the traditional hymn with a twist. The chorus says ‘Here am I, all of me, take my life, it’s all for Thee’. Honestly, I wasn’t sure I would make it through the song on Sunday without bursting into tears. Just rehearsing it all week made me cry. Sunday came and I sang it without a tear but that isn’t what stuck most with me. What stuck was the view from the stage. All the lights were off in the auditorium but the stage lights were on. All I could see was the silhouettes of the congregation. And they were worshipping. Some of the hands were raised, some not. Some moving, some still. But together were a couple hundred people worshiping God. Singing Here am I, all of me. It is an amazing thing to see worship unfold before my eyes. During those verses, there was one focus: God. Everything in life, all the schedules, conflicts, fears, doubts faded away. I didn’t see one person, I saw a multitude of people praising their Lord and Savior. And it made me realize, if in a tiny portion, what God must see as we all worship Him. Because really, it isn’t about the music, the worship leader, the choir or the band. It isn’t about our ideas, thoughts, schedules, hurts or grudges. It is about our God, praising Him regardless of the day, regardless of our neighbor, regardless. And it is a feeling I hope I keep always.

 

One Response to “His view”

  1. kristie Says:

    thank you for sharing this.. i love to hear other people being moved my god and how they see and fill it.. and to know that i am not the only one that cant always make it threw a song with out crying.


Leave a Reply

