Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Saturday Savings October 20, 2007

Filed under: Frugal,saving — fullofboys @ 11:43 am

Anyone that knows me well, knows we live on a budget. When we first were married it was out of necessity. Now it is just the way our house runs. We try to save as much as possible and live off of only what we need. By doing that, I am ALWAYS on the hunt for good bargains. I am trying something new this week. I am going to show you one of the bargains from my week. I am not sure how often I will do this, as taking a picture of the items with children running around doesn’t always work! For more great bargains, head over to Money Saving Mom!

dsc01545.jpg

And would you believe I did not pay a thing for any of this? I had to refill my prescription this week. I normally do this at Target but Kmart had a coupon in their ad that you would get a free $10.00 gift card with a new prescription. I decided to make that $10 go as far as I could. Here is the breakdown.

Sunsilk Shampoo (plus free trial of conditioner and 24/7 creme): $2.99 – $2 coupon = $.99

Sunsilk 24/7 Creme (plus free trial of shampoo and conditioner):$2.99 – $2 coupon = $.99

Reese’s Cups: Sale for $1.88 each (reg. $2.69 each) = $3.76 – $1/2 coupon = $2.76

Popcorn: Sale for $1.25 each (reg. $2.19 each) = $2.50 – $0.60 coupon and $0.40 coupon = $1.50

Occasion Cards: $0.99 each = $3.96 – $1/2, $1/2, $1/1 = $0.96

Total before coupons and sales = $14.68 plus tax

Total after sales and coupons = $7.20 plus tax

I saved over 50% with the sales and coupons but since I had that free $10 gift card I did not pay more than I would have paid to have the prescription…and I still have a little left on my card for another trip!

 

6 Responses to “Saturday Savings”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Wow. Good deals! I’m glad to see something from K-mart. I miss K-Mart.

  2. You have so much more patience and planning capabilities than me. I am super jealous!

  3. jodi Says:

    Wow! Great job! I used to be better about bargain shopping before the kids came along. Now I just go to one store, once a week to simplify.

    You’ve inspired me to do better! 🙂

  4. Speaking of saving money, you won some today! You were selected at random from commenters on my post about New Jeans. Come see and collect your gift card! 😉

  5. Jenn Hesse Says:

    Wow, I was impressed! I tried the Grocery Game for a few months, but I lost interest after realizing that I needed to go to several different stores to save a lot. I never go to Walgreens or CVS, so it didn’t seem to work for me. I want to cut our grocery budget, but I haven’t found an easy way to do so. Maybe cuz it isn’t easy?! 🙂

  6. Mom Says:

    wow – you sure have beaten my good savings!!! I’m so very proud of you! Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

