Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

WFMW – Backwards Day October 3, 2007

Filed under: Works For Me Wednesday — fullofboys @ 11:41 am

wfmwheader.jpg

Todays Work for Me Wednesday is backwards. Instead of my giving you an idea, I am asking for your help. I hope you have some great ideas as I am looking forward to reading them all!

One of my least favorite activities is to clean the bathroom…especially the hall bath which is the bathroom for the boys and guests. The problem is finding the time to clean it without the kids in tow. While it is nice to have the children’s help, I am just not comfortable letting the 5 or 3 year old help with the cleaners. So my question for today is how to you clean the bathroom effectively and quickly…or as quick as you can. I also want to know how you keep it all organized. Let me know your thoughts!

Have more great ideas? Check our Shannon’s site to see if you can help someone else!

 

6 Responses to “WFMW – Backwards Day”

  1. Check out Fly Lady- you might not want to sign up for the e-mail- you’ll get tons! BUT her Swish and Swipe explained here (http://www.flylady.net/pages/FLYFaq.asp#swish)

    helps me keep the bathrooms clean and the need for a “deep” clean spread way out!!!

  2. Rachel Says:

    Hi. I use Melaleuca Tub and Tile cleaners. It’s non-toxic and safe for my 4.5 year old boy and 2.5 year old boy. I let them help and they think its fun then when they get a little bit bigger it will be their job to clean it. I love Fly Lady’s swish and swipe routine too. I modified it to fit us.

  3. Christy Says:

    I keep a container of those lysol wipes in each bathroom. You can wipe it down several times a week or everyday if you wanted to. That way it makes your “deep cleaning” more spread out. I wipe down the sink, faucet, and even toilet with them and then I just throw it away. It keeps the bathrooms looking good w/out me having to get out the major cleaners every weekend. 🙂 I usually try to “deep clean” every two weeks or so. Key word there is TRY. hehe As for the bathtub…you could keep a sponge under the sink and just wipe it down every other day or something. Again…it just keeps it looking clean, but you can deep clean it every other week or so. Hope this helps. I know it’s nothing revolutionary, but hey…it works for me.

  4. jodi Says:

    I keep a sponge, Comet, and toilet bowl cleaner under the kids bathroom sink in a small bucket. And I clean the sink and/or toilet while they are taking a bath in the bathtub. At 4 and 2 they don’t need my undivided attention while they are bathing (plus they like water playtime), so if I notice the toilet is dirty I just clean it while I’m waiting for them to get out. Works for Me! 🙂

  5. Susan Says:

    try baking soda! it is great for stubborn soap scum! and they can and sprinkle it for you without fear of using poisons. i too, clean while they are all in the tub!:)

  6. Kim Says:

    I have the supplies in there, lysol spray and wipes main priority. I too, have boys ages 5, 3 and 9 mo. Basically during bathtime, I do major cleaning, which means as often as I bathe them (not enough) is how clean my bathroom is (not so clean), but we minimize the stuff in there and wipe down, and throw toilet cleaner in and throw towels on the floor and in the wash often as well as do the toilet inside and then outside with a wipe. Comet comes in for the tougher clean when I get a moment. Maybe even before or after my shower on a Sat morn, when I lock myself in there.


Leave a Reply

