Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Helping me to stay Frugal September 23, 2007

Filed under: Family,Frugal,Group Writing Project,Me,saving — fullofboys @ 8:22 pm

To those who personally know me, it comes as no shock that my husband is much more frugal than I am. You see, Heath is very wise. He takes time to think about what it would like to purchase. He has never been and I am confident he will never be a spur of the moment kind of shopper. We have been married almost 7 years now and there are days when I still find it difficult o be frugal. However, there is nothing that makes my day more than to call my husband and tell him I just saved over 50% off our grocery bill!

Mommy Zabs is hosting a writing project about three things that make you a better….you fill in the blank. I thought long and hard about that blank. I would try to fill it in but that blank was….well, blank. I realize I am a mom, wife, friend and believer but I was trying to think outside that box a little. Then it hit me, I am also frugal. I have had the opportunity on several occasions to help some of my girlfriends out with a little financial advice. Which to this day makes me laugh. I mean come on! If you knew me before Heath you would never have asked for my advice. I couldn’t save a penny!

However, there are a few things that help me (and my hubby) to be frugal. The first would have to be an envelope system. We really like the one from Dave Ramsey but you could even use plain envelopes. You basically fund your envelope with money for the month for things like groceries, gifts, clothes, etc. When the money is gone you can’t buy any more. It was quite intimidating at first but now we have the hang of

We also do not have credit cards of any kind. I know that might seem strange to some of you but we don’t ever need them. We have debit cards for emergencies but we fund out envelopes with cash needed. We even put away money for our cars. When things like new tags or oil changes come up we already have money set aside. And since we are always putting money aside for our cars and not always needing tags and such, we have a little surplus available for things like new fuel pumps and brake pads!

Finally, and probably the most important thing we have is accountability. It is a little scary I must admit since I like to spend more than save. But Heath is great and saving and keeping things on track in our house. We work together on our budgets. We trust each other with certain things. I handle the grocery money and clothing money because I am most likely to buy those things. He trusts me on that. I trust him on putting aside tax and insurance money.

You see, I may not be the most frugal person. I am sure I give in to lots of whims. But at the end of the day (or sometimes the end of the month) it is my envelope system, not having credit cards and accountability with Heath that help me be more frugal.

 

3 Responses to “Helping me to stay Frugal”

  1. Mommy Zabs Says:

    What a great post! I have been gradually getting more frugal. Boycotting china has helped that 😉 And then I vowed to not buy clothing for a year (for myself)… this is something I have been more convicted about lately.

    I LONG to do the finances with my husband tough. It’s more something I like to do. He took it over when i had a baby and was pregnant and not well with the 2nd and I never got it back 🙂 I’m really praying so hard God will help him desire to work on it together. I feel so not 1 in this area. But I can’t say more than i have, so I’m just praying 🙂

    Great post!

  2. Susan Says:

    i am with you… i love the no CC rule!
    we too have no CC’s and love it 🙂
    i don’t want to some lingering debit to hang over me. i would go nuts thinking about it.
    have you tried the grocery game yet? i am telling the ones i have turned on to are hooked and loving it!!!

  3. Jennifer F. Says:

    Great tips! I just discovered your site though the group writing project. Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

