Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

WFMW – Occasion Cards September 19, 2007

Filed under: Organization,Works For Me Wednesday — fullofboys @ 7:22 am

wfmwheader.jpg

Life at my house gets a little crazy at times.

(I will give those of you who know me a few minutes to stop laughing and regain your normal breathing pattern.)

One thing I struggle with is getting out cards for birthdays, an anniversary or some other big even in someone’s life. And it drives me crazy! Before kids, I would addresses cards for the entire month and have them ready to mail on specified days. Now, three children later, I am doing my best not to have to hand write the word ‘belated’ on them. I also like to make my own cards. However, I do not have the time to drag out all my card making supplies every time an occasion comes up.

Instead, I simply look at my calendar for the year in January. I count the number of occasions I know I will have to send a card for and then add to that number just to give me a little extra. I sit down for one evening or afternoon and make all the cards for the coming year. Then I put them in a little Rubbermaid container. They are divided by birthday, anniversary, baby, blank and thank you. The blanks can really be used for anything from a baby to a sympathy card. Works for me.

Thanks to Shannon over at Rocks In My Dryer for hosting Works For Me Wednesday this week. For more great ideas, be sure to check out her site!

 

5 Responses to “WFMW – Occasion Cards”

  1. Lisa Kay Says:

    What a great idea!

    I stamp cards, too.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. SAHMmy Says Says:

    Great idea! Wish I had time/creativity to make cards–I’m impressed 🙂 It’s really important to me to remember birthdays for friends and family, but there are so many now–26 if you only count the kids!–even just buying simple b-day cards was getting expensive. I recently found a great box of 50 cards at Michael’s for $10; they’re really heavy cardstock and have 10 different patterns.

  3. April Says:

    Wow, what an awesome idea! My brother got married just a few weeks ago and I have to admit, part of me was a little stressed out about the whole idea – – just one more occasion to remember a card for. I have a hard enough time rembering to send him a birthday card! But this is great.

    I’m going to give this a try on my next day off.

    Thanks so much!!

  4. Great idea! It is SO hard to keep up with everyone’s birthday. This would be like a calendar of sorts as well if you added the names to the envelopes with the date. You can just check your box each week!

    I think that handmade cards are so special because you know that the person making it put thought and time into doing so.

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. Amy Says:

    I make my cards also! which reminds me here in the next month I will start making all my Christmas cards!! 🙂 Do you make all your own Christmas cards also?
    ~Amy


Leave a Reply

