Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Group Writing Project – July July 26, 2007

Filed under: Family,Group Writing Project — fullofboys @ 6:08 am

Momma Blogga is doing a Group Writing Project. I haven’t done it before but I thought it would still be fun to participate. This month’s theme is ‘thanks, mom’. So here we go!

It would be difficult for me to thank just my mom as I feel I have been blessed with two moms in my life. The first is obviously the woman who carried me in her womb and gave birth to me. The second mom (or Mama as we call her) is my mother in law. I know so many friends who have an ‘Everybody Loves Raymond’ relationship with their mother in law. Not me! I am so blessed to have her in my life. Now that I have identified my two moms…how can I say thanks? I really doubt I will ever have the words to thank them for what they have taught me but I still want to try to get them out.

Mom – thanks for being a fighter. I know it would have been easy to lose hope and give up when the doctors told you you would have chemo for a second time. But you kept fighting. I loved that you always wanted to see new pictures of the boys while you were in the hospital. Thank you for taking time to talk to Isaiah while you were sick. You were always upbeat when you spoke to him and I appreciate the fact that you never let on to him that you didn’t feel well. You continued to let that two year old little boy know that you cared. You allowed me to share quiet times with you. Thanks for leaning on me. You taught me how to not just be a daughter but a source of comfort and strength.

Mama – thank you for your son, who completes all my short comings! You raised him to be a Godly man who leads his family, an honest man who values integrity and a modest man who will never admit how wise he is! You taught me how to stand firm when I needed to discipline my own children and you have taught me how to allow them to be boys! Thank you for taking time to teach me a skill in cake decorating. I know it was/is time consuming and I still have tons of questions but you always have patience with me! More importantly, thank you for giving me an example of a healthy mom/son relationship and a view of how to let go when that time comes. I hope my boys respect and honor me the way Heath does you.

Thanks to Mom and Mama – I know you both make me who I am and give me courage to strive to be who I can.

 

10 Responses to “Group Writing Project – July”

  1. Linda Says:

    What a sweet post. I too am so blessed to have a wonderful relationship with my mil.
    Blessings

  2. jodi Says:

    That is very sweet. Your whole family is blessed by those 2 women. What a legacy!

  3. mommyzabs Says:

    how very sweet to include your mother in law in this post.

  4. How wonderful to be so blessed—and not once, but twice! Thanks for participating!

  5. Corey Says:

    twice as nice. šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing with us!

  6. summershine Says:

    I am one of also has a wonderful mother in law. This was a very nice tribute.

  7. Lynnae Says:

    How sweet! I’m glad you have a great relationship with your mother in law. It’s a huge blessing, isn’t it?

  8. That is beautiful and so thoughtful of you to include your MIL. Both sound like wonderful women.

  9. Susan Says:

    i agree, you have two wonderful women in your life!


Leave a Reply

