Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

Beautiful Feet July 10, 2007

Filed under: Deeper Still,Joyful Tuesdays — fullofboys @ 6:45 am

This last Sunday we sang an old hymn at church called ‘Take my life and let it be’. I grew up in church but did not pay attention completely ignored every word. Today. hymns are dispersed through modern songs and even then I sometimes ignore the words. However, as I listened to the lyrics on this song, it gave me hope to think of all God could use me for and also brought back an old fear. There is one line in the song that says:

Take my feet, and let them be swift and beautiful for Thee

 

This has always been a difficult picture for me. No, I don’t have a foot phobia of any kind. I am just insecure about my bare feet. When I was 12 I had surgery preformed on both my legs. Because of this I have two scars on the back on my ankles that are 5 inches long. Through my teenage years I would never wear shorts, skirts or anything that did not cover my ankles. It was even a stretch to get me to wear sandals. While it was not my foot that had the scar, I never felt comfortable without socks or jeans. I always struggled with the verse Romans 10:15 that says How beautiful are the feet of the messengers who bring good news! Beautiful? Really? Surely He hasn’t seen my scars? Doesn’t He know they are not perfect?

Literally, I struggled for many years with this. To wear a short dress for graduation for terrible for me. However, recently (in my quest to be more feminine in a house full of guys) I decided to buy a knee length skirt and carpi’s. I came to the realization that ‘beautiful’ isn’t all about the outward appearance of my feet. God sees my ‘feet’ as beautiful because I choose to live for Him. I choose to allow my feet to be directed by Him and used for His glory. He sees beauty in my heart, which transfers to all the other parts of my body as I allow Him to use them.

It challenges me to remember that all parts of me are usable by God, if I would allow it. He sees me as beautiful…regardless of my good or bad hair days, my impatience with my kids, my irritations at neighbors cats or my daily doubts and fears. He sees beauty in the vessel He created.

Think about a cruise ship. On the outside it can look big, overwhelming maybe even bulky. It is a vessel but the outside holds the essentials. The inside, however, is breathtaking. Structures carved and pieced together in an intricate fashion. That is how I think God views us. We may try to pretty up the outside but God see how wonderfully made our heart is. I hope you can see that kind of beauty too.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Beautiful Feet”

  1. Barb Says:

    I think we are too self-critical. I bet you NO ONE notices your scars. You’re right about the beauty being inside, not what we appear on the outside. Our culture is yelling, screaming at us that only the outside matters. When, truly, it’s only skin and what’s inside – after you take time and effort to know another person – is where beauty is kept. Hard truth and I don’t believe it myself most days. I love when you say, “all parts are usable”-even (probably especially)the scars.

  2. Niquie Says:

    I just want to say think you for writing this. It really touched me, in the past few years, I’ve had my own scars to deal with on the inside and outside, and I’ve done everything I could to hide them. I’m glad to know that I don’t need to hide them, and that God does love me, and sees me as a beautiful creature, even though I don’t feel beautiful om the outside or inside at times.


Leave a Reply

