Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

A little at a time, please July 3, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — fullofboys @ 9:06 am

I am a disorganized person. Yes, you read that right. My calendar would appear to make me look organized but in truth it is a smoke screen. Just this last week I have forgotten three times something from the store! Add to this the chaos that envelopes my house and it feels like I am swimming in ‘things to do’ rather than celebrating what I have accomplished. Recently I was reading my friend Carmen’s blog. She blogged about her disorganization and the need for various places in her house to be organized. Now, I found this baffling. I mean every time I am at her house it looks perfect – until my kids get there and bring out every toy her son owns! It got me thinking, if her house needs to be organized and she seems so on top of it all, mine surely does. How in the world am I going to do this? I visited another blog I’m an organizing junkie. It gives practical tips on getting things organized. So I started with a list and decided to work off of it. I have one month before the boys begin school so I am giving myself a deadline for this project. So yesterday I started on my list. I started with the pantry.

Here is how it looked before.

dsc012671.jpg

Here is the after:

dsc012761.jpg

It felt SO good to actually mark off a few items as they were organized! I am hooked now! I can’t wait to get my house organized and ready for the school year. On to more organizing now!

 

6 Responses to “A little at a time, please”

  1. Laura Says:

    Oh my gosh, I will never get tired of before and after pictures. You did a fantastic job!! Love it. It really is addicting isn’t it. I use organizing to procrastinate from doing sooo many other things….lol.

    So glad you found me!!

    Keep up the good work 🙂

    Laura

  2. Jennifer Says:

    When your done with your house can you come and do mine. LOL!!!!!

  3. Nice! Just a word of warning – organizing can get expensive! I just can’t seem to buy enough of those great organizational tools to help me! Have fun! By the way, I just tagged you on my blog!

  4. Jenn Hesse Says:

    Great before and after! I love organizing — just wish I had more time to do it. 😉

  5. Susan Says:

    now the real trick comes, trying to keep it that way lol
    it looks great girl, that is a really good goal to set!

  6. Susie Says:

    I’m cracking up! It must be in the air because I’m in the same mode! I just finished reading a book called “Getting More Done in Less Time” by Donna Otto. I’m a pretty organized person and she even freaked me out a little with how anal some of her suggestions were. But all in all a good book with helpful tips. I especially liked the chapter on “tackling the paper piles”. I always go through them, move them around a little and then end up with basically the same pile! That’s my project for the week. Your pantry looks awesome! Keep up the good work. It’s worth it in the end. Susie


Leave a Reply

