Full of Boys

Finding the adventure in the blues, greens and grays of life!

WFMW – Backwards Edition September 3, 2008

Filed under: children,Family,Works For Me Wednesday — fullofboys @ 6:58 am
Tags: ,

I should keep a running list of all the things I have questions about. That way, when something like this comes up I am not wondering what to ask! This week is a backwards edition of Works For Me…this time I ask you a question and you tell me what works for you!

Life is a continual evolution around here and I am always looking for ways to make things run smoother, fell better, etc. So today I have a dual question…you can choose to answer one or both!

First – what do you pack for your kid’s lunches? I feel like I get into a rut with the boys. Now, it might be because I have a couple picky eaters but I do have one that would eat just about anything I give him! Any ideas or suggestions beyond peanut butter and crackers are wanted!

The other question is for some of your moms who have older children. Isaiah, my 6 year old, is reading. He loves to read but I am struggling to find books for him. I want some books that either he can read on his own or even chapter books that we can read with him. Any ideas?

Think you can give more advice…check out Shannon’s list here!

 

8 Responses to “WFMW – Backwards Edition”

  1. kelli Says:

    Try Mrs. Piggle Wiggle or the Magic Tree House books. The chapters are short and the topics are fun. :)

  2. Barefoot in High Heels Says:

    Hi!

    I definitely have great book ideas . . . Check out Barefoot Books — on my blog, click on the Barefoot widget to get directly to my site. You can search by age range (read-alone or read-together). Barefoot is an independent children’s book publisher and these books are so richly illustrated with creative stories! I love them!! As far as a chapter book goes, Barefoot just debuted the first chapter novel, Little Leap Forward, about a boy growing up in Beijing. A little old for a 6-year-old, but you could definitely read it together. There are also great anthologies of old fables, stories of pirates or knights. Check it out!!! Let me know what you think!

    Good luck!
    -Lori

    http://www.barefootinhighheels.wordpress.com

  3. Ladybird Says:

    I LOVE “Giraffe and a Half” by Shel Silverstein. I got it for my neice a couple of years ago for Christmas and she loved it. It was great, because the words were easy and it repeats alot. Dr. Suess is always a great go-to for kiddos his age too. I will keep looking…..I LOVE kids books!

    I always liked having pretzels in my lunch……with a little container of spicy mustard. Anything to “dip” was fun for me.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Lunches

    Rylie is not picky so I can giver her whatever. Usually consists of any of the following: PB&J sandwich or Ham & Cheese Sandwich, squeeze yogurt, apple slices, apple sauce, carrots, lunchable (when im lazy),grapes,salad.

    Nathan very picky. He gets nutra grain bar or muffins with apple slices, grapes, shredded cheese, yogurt, and any type of crackers I have at the time.

  5. Laurie Says:

    You should have been here to see me talk Leah into even trying the uncrustable (so $$$) I bought so my MIL could make an easy lunch while we were out of town. I sent it on Tuesday for a trail run and it came back home so I asked her what was up. She said “Mom, this is like an O not a triangle, so I can’t eat it” The letter that day was O, and I said try it, it is just like the (O)nes I make… no dice. I joked with her O for O my gosh uncrustables are so good! Still no luck. We joked about O for the entire ride home. We got in and I said well, the uncrustable is your snack we can’t waste food. She finally ate it but declared the uncrusted edges nasty. Goes to show … from now one I will just stick with the piece of Balogna in the baggie for my picky eater.

  6. Superchikk Says:

    Thanks for your advice on my toddler/milk drinking issue. Maybe it’ll just take him a bit longer to decide he likes it.

  7. Krista Says:

    I’m bad at judging ages and I think this might be a little old for your son, but you should consider the matchbox kids series. They are so fun!
    At least these would probably be good chapter read together books!

  8. Brooke Says:

    It is difficult to recommend books without knowing what level your son is reading on. I have an early reader who read Harry Potter books in 1st grade and a first grader who is just ventureing into early readers. I agree with the Magic Treehouse books as a great place to start for chapter books. The best advice I have is to find a type of literature that you both enjoy and read to him. Even when he can read for himself. I really believe every child should be read to! I used to read to my sixth grade students. They had the option to read along for credit or just listen. Most of them just wanted to listen. They loved it! If you want more recommendations email me and let me know at what level your child is reading.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.